Himachal Pradesh at a glance

01 Himachal Pradesh General Information



Area55,673 sq. km.
68,64,602 (2011)
= 3,481,873
= 3,382,729
Sex Ratio972 (females per 1000 males) (2011)
Growth12.94% ( 2011 )
Density123 per square km (2011 Census)
Literacy rate82.80% as per 2011
Male: 89.53%
Female: 75.93%
No. of Districts12
Development Blocks78
Panchayat Smities78
Zila Parishad12
Urban Local Bodies54 (2 Municipal Corporations, 31 Municipal Councils and 21 Nagar Panchayats)
Nagar Nigam5 (as per 2020)
Nagar Parishad19
Nagar Panchayats33
Census Villages20690
Inhabited Villages309
Health Institutions3,824 (2012-2013)
Educational Institutions12942 (Primary schools: 10483, Middle schools: 1056, Secondary / Higher secondary schools: 1339, General colleges: 64)
Motorable Roads61899 km. (as per 2018)
Villages Connected with Roads11024 (as per 2019)
Road density65.97 km. (as per 2018-2019)
Bridges2213 (as per 2020)
No. of National Highways9
Identified Hydroelectric Potential27,436 MW (as per 2018)
Potential harnessed10,519.17 (as per 2018)
Irrigation facility available109452 hectare (CCA Created)
Food grain production1745.01 thousand tonnes in the Year 2017-2018
Vegetable production90 million tonnes (2003-04)
Area under Vegetable production6.2 million hectares (2003-04)
Fruit Production4.06 lakh tonnes (2018-2019)
Milk Production1530.940 thousand tonnes (2020)
12th Five Year PlanRs.22800 crore (2012-2017)
Annual PlanRs.7,900 crore (2020-2021)
Per Capita IncomeRs.1,83,286 (2020-2021)
JudicatureHigh Court at Shimla
Principle LanguagesHindi and Pahari

02 Quick History of Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh came into being on April 15, 1948 and comprised 30 former hill states. The state of Bilaspur was merged with Himachal Pradesh in 1954. The six original districts were : Mahasu, Sirmaur, Mandi, Chamba, Bilaspur and Kinnaur. On November 1, 1966certain parts of the state of Punjab were transferred to Himachal Pradesh. These comprise the districts of Shimla, Kullu, Kangra and Lahaul and Spiti and parts of Hoshiarpur and Ambala districts. Himachal Pradesh attained full statehood on January 25, 1971 as the 18th State of the Union.

Old Himachal : consists of districts of Chamba, Kinnaur, Bilaspur, Mandi, Sirmaur and Shimla. Actually the capital town Shimla was included in Himachal later, but it has some area from old Himachal.

New Himachal : consists of districts of Kangra, Kullu, Lahaul and Spity, Hamirpur and Una.

( What we see today as Himachal Pradesh is the combination of old Himachal and the new Himachal ).